Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join APBP

News & Press: General News

APBP Honors Oberstar with Meritorious Service Award

Friday, February 24, 2012   (0 Comments)
Share |

CEDARBURG, WI – The Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals (APBP) is pleased to honor former U.S. Representative James Oberstar with the Meritorious Service Award for his work in championing bicycle and pedestrian transportation and Safe Routes to School. The former Congressman will receive the award on February 24, 2012 at a special reception in Minneapolis hosted by APBP and Transit for Livable Communities (TLC).

As a brilliant policy maker, Oberstar showed a tireless dedication to establishing the Safe Routes to School Program, state bicycle coordinator positions, the requirement to plan for bicyclists at state and regional levels, broad eligibility for transportation funds, and the non-motorized pilot projects. "Over the past 20 years, we can trace many of the gains we've made straight back to the desk of Jim Oberstar,” says Andy Clarke, APBP's founding Executive Director and current president of The League of American Bicyclists.

Oberstar represented northeastern Minnesota's 8th congressional district from 1975 until 2011. He served as chairman of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee from 2007 until 2011.

The Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals, which provides expertise for sustainable transportation, is the only professional membership organization for the discipline of pedestrian and bicycle transportation. APBP members – employees of all levels of government, consulting firms and non-profits – work in the engineering, planning, landscape architecture, police, safety, health and promotion fields and specialize in improving conditions for bicycling and walking. For more information about the organization, visit

Sign In

Policy News

2018 Monthly Webinar Series - Bundle of 12

U.S. Federal Policy Briefing

Photo credits from banner (left to right): Geneva Hooten, Nick Falbo

© 2016 All Rights Reserved | Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals
201 E. Main St. Suite 1405 | Lexington, KY 40507