Online Store | Print Page | Your Cart | Sign In | Join APBP
News & Press: General News

APBP Announces 2010 Award Winners

Wednesday, September 29, 2010   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Debra Goeks
Share |

Chattanooga, TN—The Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals (APBP) announced the winners of its annual awards program to honor excellence in the profession at its annual meeting on September 15, 2010 during Pro Walk / Pro Bike® held in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

Recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award is Lois Thibault with U.S. Access Board. Leslie Meehan with the Nashville Area MPO and Jim Sebastian with the District of Columbia DOT were honored as the Public Sector Professionals of the Year, Andrea White-Kjoss with Bikestation received the Private Sector Professional of the Year, and Dan Jatres with the Regional Planning Commission of New Orleans was named Young Professional of the Year.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have made a substantial commitment to the profession and who have shown excellence in the field of bicycle and pedestrian planning, design, advocacy, and/or education. The award distinguishes those whose vision and determination have made their communities better places to bicycle and walk and who inspire the rest of us. The Professional of the Year Awards recognize the achievements of pedestrian and bicycle professionals made during the 12-month period between the summer of 2009 and the spring of 2010.

It is fitting that APBP recognize the accomplishments of Thibault on the 20th anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act. For 18 years, she has led the Access Board's training and agency rulemaking programs, stimulated new research, and attended myriad meetings with transportation professionals who learned from her insights. In 1999 Lois authored "Accessible Rights-of-Way,” a design guide for pedestrian facility accessibility. APBP salutes Lois Thibault for working with APBP to hone and deliver our Designing Pedestrian Facilities for Accessibility course. Lois also serves on the board of The Washington Ear, a radio reading service for persons with visual impairments.

White-Kjoss was recognized by APBP for her pioneering work within the last year to provide bicycle parking facilities that enhance community health and livability. Her skillful building of community partnerships was essential to the planning and installation of Bikestation DC at Union Station, Bikestation Covina featuring a compact, LEED-compliant, unstaffed and cost-effective, secure bike transit center, and Bikestation Claremont. Together, these desirable bicycle parking facilities are changing the way people think of and use transportation while winning the attention of transportation officials and entrepreneurs alike. Andrea says her mission is not about bicycles. It's about changing the way people think of and use transportation, giving people better options for how they move from place to place.

Meehan's planning and program activities in the last year have established the Nashville Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) as a leader in active transportation. Examples include: a Regional Bicycle and Pedestrian Study that won the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) Planning Council Best Project Award, a Physical Activity and Commuting Study, a Health Impact Assessment of Transit Oriented Development, Mapping Food Access and Transportation, Tennessee Safe Routes to School State Network Project, a Safe Routes to School Train-the-Trainers, Tennessee Obesity Task Force, Partnership for Sustainable Communities, and Symposiums on Complete Streets and School Siting.

Sebastian inspires his staff to excel, yielding projects such as the Bikestation at Union Station, a bicycle facility on Pennsylvania Avenue connecting the White House to the Capitol, a separated bicycle lane on 15th Street NW, the City's first HAWK signal and several new Rectangular Rapid Flashing Crosswalk Beacons resulting from DC's comprehensive Pedestrian Master Plan. The Oberstar Award for Safe Routes to School went to a DC school and the city's bicycle sharing program is expanding from 10 stations to 100 stations.

In addition to his regular duties, Jatres initiated a successful revision of state law (HB 1137 revising Act No. 618) that clarified bicycling law and brought Louisiana bicycling laws into a modern understanding of bicycle operation and what constitutes a safe cycling environment. Dan engaged the bicycle community in this process by establishing a strong communication network using Constant Contact to keep the membership of the New Orleans Metro Bicycle Coalition up to speed on the progress of HB 1137.

The Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals provides expertise for sustainable transportation and is the only professional membership organization for the discipline of pedestrian and bicycle transportation. APBP members are employees of all levels of government, consulting firms and non-profits who work in the engineering, planning, landscape architecture, police, safety, health and promotion fields and specialize in improving conditions for bicycling and walking.