Online Store | Print Page | Your Cart | Sign In | Join APBP
News & Press: General News

APBP Announces 2013 Award Winners

Tuesday, September 10, 2013   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Steve Lettau
Share |
2013 PDS
NEWS RELEASEEmbargoed until 12:45 p.m. (MT)
September 10, 2013
Karen Dredge, APBP
Phone 414-573-4211

Association of Pedestrian & Bicycle Professionals
Announces 2013 Award Winners

Boulder, CO - The Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals (APBP) announced annual winners at its 2013 conference.

Winners are Anne Lusk, PhD; Joshuah Mello, AICP; Emily Snyder, AICP; Michael King, RA; Darren Flusche; and Kyle Wagenschutz.

APBP’s Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Anne Lusk, PhD, Research Scientist at Harvard School of Public Health. Dr. Lusk’s work to make bicycling safer and more attractive spans 32 years. She is recognized for drawing attention to design changes that cause women, seniors, and children to feel more comfortable on bikes. Her many accomplishments include: created Stowe Recreation Path (Vermont 1981); helped found and chaired Vermont Trails and Greenways Council; helped found Vermont Bicycle and Pedestrian Coalition; Vice Chair of American Trails; received a prestigious NIH 4-year grant to study bicycle facilities; taught classes on bicycle facilities at Harvard School of Public Health and Harvard University Extension School; and published articles including "Bicycle Guidelines and Crash Rates on Cycle Tracks in the United States” in the 2013 American Journal of Public Health. APBP salutes Anne Lusk as researcher, worldwide lecturer and career mentor.

APBP’s Professional of the Year – Public Sector Award was presented to Joshuah D. Mello, AICP
Assistant Director of Planning – Transportation, City of Atlanta; and Emily Snyder, AICP, Senior City Planner, City and County of Denver. APBP recognized Joshuah Mello for his fast-paced, persuasive approach to creating a more bicycle-friendly, walkable Atlanta. APBP recognized Emily Snyder for her collaborative efforts to develop innovative bicycle infrastructure and effect policy change to support it. In a mobile session, attendees saw first hand how Denver is transforming into a walkable and bicycle friendly city.

APBP’s 2013 Professional of the Year Award – Private Sector was presented to Michael King, RA, Principal, Nelson\Nygaard Consulting Associates, Inc. APBP recognized Michael King for his work on two landmark projects; both likely to change how street infrastructure in U.S. cities is planned, designed, and modified. Michael served as project manager for the Chicago's Complete Streets Guidelines and the NACTO Urban Streets Design Manual

APBP’s 2013 Professional of the Year Award – Non-profit Sector was presented to Darren Flusche, Policy Director, League of American Bicyclists. APBP recognized Darren Flusche for helping APBP members and other bicycle and pedestrian professionals and advocates to navigate federal transportation legislation known as Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century (MAP-21).

APBP’s 2013 Young Professional of the Year Award was presented to Kyle Wagenschutz,
Bikeway/Pedestrian Coordinator, City of Memphis, Tenn. As Memphis’ first bicycle pedestrian coordinator, Kyle Wagenschutz oversaw the city's first bike lanes, expanded bike to work day efforts and ushered in high profile projects including plans for 15 miles of protected bike lanes.

The Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals provides expertise for sustainable transportation and is the only professional membership organization for the discipline of pedestrian and bicycle transportation. APBP members are employees of all levels of government, consulting firms and non-profits who work in the engineering, planning, landscape architecture, police, safety, health and promotion fields and specialize in improving conditions for bicycling and walking. For more information about the organization, visit

like us on facebook