Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join APBP

News & Press: This Week at APBP

This Week at APBP: September 14

Wednesday, September 14, 2016   (0 Comments)
Share |
APBP Welcomed 27 New Members in August
Please help us welcome these new APBP members!
Rik Ahlberg, Provincetown Bicycle Committee, Provincetown, MA
Paul Benton, LandDesign, Inc., Charlotte, NC
Willard Bruce, BikeHouston, Houston, TX
Jeannette Brugger, City of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Arianna Choza, American Planning Association, San Diego, CA
Suzanne Day, Valley Metro - RPTA, Phoenix, AZ
Bella Dinh-Zarr, NTSB, Washington, DC
Linda DuPriest, LDP Strategies, Bozeman, MT
Jingyi Fan, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority, CA
Alfred Farley, Better Bicycling Murfreesboro, Murfreesboro, TN
Drew Gingras, VHB, Vienna, VA
Alex Henry, Florida Department of Transportation, Bradenton, FL
Nathan Hicks, CDM Smith, Miami, FL
Melanie Hilpp, HI
Benjamin Howell, Town of Morrisville, Morrisville, NC
Jason Jardine, Parsons, North Vancouver, BC
Cynthia Krupp, MDOT, Lansing, MI
Sarah Lee, Tenacious Tires, Eugene, OR
Daniel McDonell, Walk Bike Nashville, Nashville, TN
Jacob Meunier, LivableStreets Alliance, Cambridge, MA
Nasim Naghavi, University of Waterloo, Maple, ON
Beth Poovey, LandDesign, Inc., Charlotte, NC
Brandon Quigley, Region of Peel, Brampton, ON
Kelly Rodgers, Portland State University, Portland, OR
Abbey Stumpf, North Natomas TMA, Sacramento, CA
Cindy Welton, Stanford Health Care, Menlo Park, CA
Jane Winslow, The University of Texas at Austin, Manhattan, KS

Image credit: / Bublitz Creative


Thanks to all APBP members who were able to join us at the Annual Meeting at Pro Walk/Pro Bike/Pro Place in Vancouver!

Members gathered Monday evening to hear remarks from APBP President Jessica Mortell on the state of the association and an inspiring keynote from Dan Burden.  

The evening concluded with an award ceremony for four Professional of the Year awards and the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award. View all of the award winners on the website.

Photo credit: APBP


The U.S. Department of Transportation invites elected officials and teams to the 2016 Summit for Safer People, Safer Streets.
Friday, September 16, 2016
9:00am – 4:00pm EDT
Washington, DC

The Summit will feature the Mayors’ Challenge Awards Winners, info about new resources from USDOT and pedestrian and bicycle resource partners, and opportunities to network and share challenges and successes with other cities and leadership. Come celebrate and learn about the work accomplished during the Challenge, and get ideas about how to continue to build on that work. Click here to RSVP. 

Photo credit: Anthony Burton, USDOT


By September 30:

If your state has unspent (aka “orphaned”) funds that were originally earmarked before Sept. 30, 2005 for specific projects, then pay close attention to FHWA’s guidance about repurposing those funds.

Approximately $2 billion is at stake!

Visit the FHWA website to see if your state has funds available.

Several of APBP’s allied groups are working with their members and followers to make sure these funds go to bicycle and pedestrian projects.

Deadline is September 30!

Photo credit:

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Latest News

2017 Monthly Webinar Series - Bundle of 12

© 2016 All Rights Reserved | Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals
201 E. Main St. Suite 1405 | Lexington, KY 40507